Gathering of Nations Pow Wow

Evangeline Chavez 2010

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Gathering of Nations Pow Wow  will be held in Albuquerque, New Mexico, April 29-30, 2011. Over 3,000 dancers will be streaming in to the sounds of hundreds of drums beating simultaneously. There is truly nothing like it – with the area slowing filling up with dancers dressed in their colorful, ornate regalia and the beating drums stirring up the soul. I viewed golden age, juniors, teens and tiny tots, dance  in competition.



~ by Evangeline Art Photography on March 29, 2011.

10 Responses to “Gathering of Nations Pow Wow”

  1. WOW Beautiful photos!!!!
    I hope someone half as talented as you will be taking photos at our pow wow this summer! Thanks for sharing, it’s a wonderful inspiration!

    https://www.facebook.com/#!/shakopeepowwow

  2. Very nice work….please send me that cd for use on http://www.theceremonial.com

    Daryl Custer
    Director of Photgraphy
    Inter-Tribal Indian Ceremonial

  3. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

  4. I have used the slide show application and thank you for showing it to me.

  5. Is the slide show on WordPress? Or, did you use another application?

  6. Evangeline: I really like to see the Gathering of Nations. Really would. I’ll wait for the cancer walk. We have so many friends that are gone because of that. Must donate. Saw your new buffalo pictures. Brave woman, you are.

  7. Wow! New way to show pictures, Evangeline. I wish that I could be there and see it. Tiny tots, good for them! You’ve outdone yourself–fashion show and now this….

    • Thank you,
      Since I have been doing events, this is a good way for the viewer to see all the photos at once in a slide show format.
      I also did the cancer walk in Albuquerque Sunday, so I need to get them up.
      If you ever get the chance to the see the Gathering of the Nations ,please do, it is always in April.
      With your knowledge of Native Americans it would be of great interest to you

Leave a Reply

 
